Moses Awards

Call for Nominations - The 29th Moses Awards

Call for Nominations – Lucy G. Moses Preservation Awards

Deadline for submissions:
Friday, January 11, 2019, 5:00pm

The New York Landmarks Conservancy has been a leader in preserving, restoring, and reusing New York City’s architectural legacy for more than 45 years. The Moses Awards are the Conservancy’s highest honors for outstanding preservation work. Named in honor of dedicated New Yorker Lucy G. Moses, the annual Awards have recognized hundreds of leaders, architects, crafts people, and building owners for their extraordinary contributions in preserving our City.

Preservation Awards are given to projects that demonstrate excellence in the restoration, preservation, or adaptive use of historic buildings, streetscapes, and landscapes that preserve commercial, residential, institutional, religious, and public buildings.

The Preservation Leadership Award is bestowed upon an outstanding individual in the field of historic preservation. Past honorees include Ruth Abram, Wint Aldrich, Tony Avella, Kent Barwick, John Belle, Simon Breines, John H. Beyer, Giorgio Cavaglieri, Kenneth Cobb, Stanley Cogan, Joan K. Davidson, Barbaralee Diamonstein-Spielvogel, Franny Eberhart, Lola Finkelstein, Kenneth K. Fisher, Daniel Garodnick, Christopher Gray, James Marston Fitch, Margot Gayle, Anne Van Ingen, Judith Kaye, Sarah Bradford Landau, Helen M. Marshall, Joan Maynard, Evelyn and Everett Ortner, Nancy and Otis Pratt Pearsall, Ruth Pierpont, Adolf K. Placzek, Charles Platt, Jan Hird Pokorny, Henry Hope Reed, Elizabeth Barlow Rogers, Vincent Scully, and Robert Silman.

Only projects that are substantially completed during 2018 and located within the five boroughs of New York City will be considered. Books, other publications, and films are not eligible.

Nomination Instructions
All nominations due by Friday, January 11, 2019, 5:00pm


Nominations for individuals must include:
A one- to two-page narrative of why the person deserves recognition.

Nominations for projects must include:
1. The nomination form.

2. A brief (1-2 page) narrative explaining the history and scope of work of the project, and why it deserves recognition. Use the space provided in nomination form or send a separate document to

3. A minimum of ten digital images (photos totaling up to 25MB may be uploaded in the form.

The nomination will not be considered complete until all materials are submitted.

Please submit any additional nomination materials by email to .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address).

or by mail to:
Lucy G. Moses Preservation Awards
The New York Landmarks Conservancy
One Whitehall Street, 21st Floor
New York, NY 10004

If you have any questions please email Andrea Goldwyn at .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address).