Moses Awards

Call for Nominations - Lucy G. Moses Awards - 30th Anniversary

Deadline for submissions:
Friday, January 10, 2020, 5:00pm

The New York Landmarks Conservancy has been a leader in preserving, restoring, and reusing New York City’s architectural legacy for over 45 years. The Moses Awards are the Conservancy’s highest honors for outstanding preservation work. Named in honor of dedicated New Yorker Lucy G. Moses, the annual Awards have recognized hundreds of leaders, architects, crafts people, and building owners for their extraordinary contributions in preserving our City.

Preservation Awards are given to projects that demonstrate excellence in the restoration, preservation, or adaptive use of historic buildings, streetscapes, and landscapes that preserve commercial, residential, institutional, religious, and public buildings.

The Preservation Leadership Award is bestowed upon an outstanding individual in the field of historic preservation. Past honorees include Ruth Abram, Wint Aldrich, Kent Barwick, John Belle, Simon Breines, John H. Beyer, Giorgio Cavaglieri, Joan K. Davidson, Barbaralee Diamonstein-Spielvogel, Franny Eberhart, Lola Finkelstein, Kenneth K. Fisher, Daniel Garodnick, Christopher Gray, James Marston Fitch, Margot Gayle, Anne Van Ingen, Judith Kaye, Helen M. Marshall, Joan Maynard, Nancy and Otis Pratt Pearsall, Ruth Pierpont, Adolf K. Placzek, Charles Platt, Jan Hird Pokorny, Henry Hope Reed, Elizabeth Barlow Rogers, Vincent Scully, Barnett Shepherd, and Robert Silman.

Only projects that are substantially completed during 2019 and located within the five boroughs of New York City will be considered. Books, other publications, and films are not eligible.


Nomination Instructions
All nominations due by Friday, January 10, 2020, 5:00pm

Nominations for individuals must include:
A one- to two-page narrative of why the person deserves recognition. Please send, along with supporting documents, to .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)

Nominations for projects must include:
1. The nomination form.

2. A brief (1-2 page) narrative explaining the history and scope of work of the project, and why it deserves recognition. The narrative may be uploaded to the nomination form.

3. A minimum of ten digital images (photos totaling up to 25MB may be uploaded in the form.

The nomination will not be considered complete until all materials are submitted.

Please submit any additional nomination materials by email to .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address).

or by mail to:
Lucy G. Moses Preservation Awards
The New York Landmarks Conservancy
One Whitehall Street, 21st Floor
New York, NY 10004

If you have any questions please email Andrea Goldwyn at .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address).