Chairman’s Award

2015 Chairman’s Award Luncheon

-Corbin Building detail

-MTA Capital Construction: Fulton Center and historic Corbin Building, at the northeast corner of John Street and Broadway in Lower Manhattan - photo: MTA / Patrick Cashin

-Robert A.M. Stern: practicing architect, teacher, and writer

-MTA Capital Construction, Uday Durg and Dr. Michael Horodniceanu

-Landmarks Conservancy President Peg Breen and LPC Chair Meenakshi Srinivasan

-Landmarks Conservancy Chair Lloyd P. Zuckerberg

-Manhattan Borough President Gale Brewer

-MTA Capital Construction President Dr. Michael Horodniceanu

-A toast by the Landmarks Preservation Commission Chair Meenakshi Srinivasan

More than 220 persons attended the Chairman’s Award Luncheon at the Metropolitan Club on June 18 honoring Dr. Michael Horodniceanu, President, MTA Capital Construction and architect Robert A.M. Stern. The award honors business persons, companies and public agencies that have demonstrated their dedication to protecting New York’s rich architectural heritage.


In honor of the 50th anniversary of the City’s landmarks law, the double award illustrated the range of preservation by celebrating both public and private achievements.

Noted architect Robert A.M. Stern was honored for his leadership on a number of important preservation issues—from emphasizing the need to designate modern buildings, to speaking out against a recent proposal that would have irreparably harmed the landmark Four Seasons Restaurant to his early opposition to the proposed expansion of the Frick Museum.

“Much of what we love about our city we owe to the Landmarks Law,” Stern said. “But all is not perfect. Great and beloved architecture and neighborhoods still hang in the crossfire between sentiment and economics and what might be called the ideologies of taste.”

He added: “So let us take this milestone anniversary as our cue to redouble our efforts in order to get back to the ideals that inspired that small band of intrepid picketers—architects mostly, I’m proud to say—who, marching in front of a threatened but drastically underappreciated Penn Station a little more than half a century ago, began a great and enduring fight for the future of our city’s soul.”

Dr. Horodniceanu accepted the award for the superb restoration of the Corbin Building, an early skyscraper by Francis Hatch Kimball on Lower Broadway, and its incorporation into the new Fulton Center.

“By juxtaposing the new on the old,” Dr. Horodniceanu said, “we created a contrast that, when combined, enhances the modern design of the Fulton Center.”

He said restoration included underpinning the building by hand and repairing or replacing over 350 uniquely molded terra cotta pieces on the exterior façade. “As an engineer, he added, working on the Corbin Building was a once-in-a-lifetime experience.”

Conservancy Chair Lloyd Zuckerberg, Manhattan Borough President Gale Brewer, Landmarks Preservation Chair Meenakshi Sreenavasin, Architect and LPC Commissioner Fred Bland and Preservation Architect Page Cowley all saluted the honorees.


More info about the honorees and the event

The New York Landmarks Conservancy inaugurated the Chairman’s Award in 1988 to recognize exceptional individuals, organizations, and businesses that have demonstrated their dedication to protecting New York’s rich architectural heritage.

In celebration of the 50th anniversary of the New York City Landmarks Law, the Landmarks Conservancy presented its 2015 Chairman’s Award to:

Dr. Michael Horodniceanu – MTA Capital Construction
MTA Capital Construction (MTACC) serves as the MTA’s project management arm for mega-projects, which require an exceptional degree of coordination within and outside the MTA. Dr. Michael Horodniceanu was appointed President of MTACC in 2008.

Located at the corner of Broadway and John Street, the historic Corbin Building has been restored and incorporated into the new Fulton Transit Center.

The building (circa 1888-89), was designed by the prominent 19th-century architect Francis Hatch Kimball in a richly ornamented Romanesque revival style. It incorporated the latest structural technology of its day including weight bearing iron beams and Guastavino tile vaults. The construction technology employed at the Corbin would quickly evolve into the fully-realized steel skeleton of the early skyscrapers. As such, the Corbin can well be described as a proto-skyscraper. At only nine stories in height, it was nevertheless one of the tallest commercial buildings in Manhattan when it opened for business in 1889. Its namesake, Austin Corbin, was the president of the Long Island Rail Road.

MTACC has adapted a 19th-century architectural gem into a 21st-century transit hub.

Robert A.M. Stern
Robert A.M. Stern is a practicing architect, teacher, and writer. He is a Fellow of the American Institute of Architects, and received the AIA New York Chapter’s Medal of Honor in 1984 and the Chapter’s President’s Award in 2001. Mr. Stern is the 2011 Driehaus Prize laureate and in 2008, received the tenth Vincent Scully Prize from the National Building Museum. In 2007, he received both the Athena Award from the Congress for the New Urbanism and the Board of Director’s Honor from the Institute of Classical Architecture and Classical America. As Founder and Senior Partner of Robert A.M. Stern Architects, he personally directs the design of each of the firms’ projects.

Mr. Stern is the J.M. Hoppin Professor of Architecture and Dean of the Yale School of Architecture. He was previously Professor of Architecture and Director of the Historic Preservation Program at the Graduate School of Architecture, Planning, and Preservation at Columbia University. Mr. Stern served from 1984 to 1988 as the first director of Columbia’s Temple Hoyne Buell Center for the Study of American Architecture. He is the author of several books and 17 books have been published about his work.

Mr. Stern’s work has been exhibited at numerous galleries and universities and is in the permanent collections of the Museum of Modern Art, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, Deutsches Architekturmuseum, Centre Pompidou, the Denver Art Museum, and the Art Institute of Chicago.

In 1976, 1980, and 1996, he was among the architects selected to represent the United States at the Venice Biennale, and he served as Chair of the International Jury in 2012.

In 1986, Mr. Stern hosted “Pride of Place: Building the American Dream,” an eight-part, eight-hour documentary television series aired on PBS.

Mr. Stern is a graduate of Columbia University (B.A., 1960) and Yale University (M. Architecture, 1965).


The New York Landmarks Conservancy
Chairman’s Award Luncheon
June 18, 2015
The Metropolitan Club, 1 East 60th Street

Honorary Chairs
Fred Bland, Craig Covil, Page Cowley, Frank Sciame,
and Elizabeth Stribling

Honorary Co-Chairs
Dick Anderson, Jay Badame, John H. Beyer, Hon. Gale Brewer, Joan Davidson, Clark Halstead, Alexa Hampton, Robert A. Levine, Hon. Carolyn Maloney, Steve Meringoff, Hon. Jerrold Nadler, Nancy and Otis Pearsall, George Ranalli, Milo Riverso, Hon. Charles E. Schumer, Robert Selsam, Stuart Siegel, Chris Ward, Carl Weisbrod, and Sam White
(list in formation)

About the Chairman’s Award
The Chairman’s Award is the Conservancy’s highest honor recognizing exceptional business leaders or organizations that have demonstrated their dedication to protecting New York’s architectural legacy, breathing life into the unique character of our beloved City.

Click here to view past Chairman’s Award events.