Chairman’s Award

2014 Chairman’s Award Luncheon

Honoring the restoration of Thurgood Marshall U.S. Courthouse

U.S. Court of Appeals Judge Dennis Jacobs, Landmarks Conservancy Chair Lloyd Zuckerberg & Manhattan Borough President Gale Brewer

Helen Post Curry, Great Granddaughter of Cass Gilbert (architect) & U.S. Court of Appeals Judge Dennis Jacobs

Denise Pease, GSA Regional Administrator

Glenn Boornazian - Integrated Conservation Resources, President

Preston Roberts – Lend Lease, Project Engineer

Jim Standish – WSP, Senior Vice-President

Jeff Greene – EverGreene Architechtural Arts, President & Founder

Steven F. Jureller – Cauldwell Wingate, Chief Operating Officer

Larry Gutterman – Beyer Blinder Belle – Senior Architect & Project Manager

Bill Paxson - Davis Brody Bond - Partner

June 5, 2014
Metropolitan Club

Conservancy Honors Thurgood Marshall U.S. Courthouse Restoration

More than 175 people celebrated the restoration of the Thurgood Marshall U.S. Courthouse at the 26th annual Chairman’s Award luncheon. The event was held at the landmark Metropolitan Club and guests included New York Building Congress President Dick Anderson, Manhattan Borough President Gale Brewer, Landmarks Preservation Commission Chair Robert Tierney and the Great Granddaughter of architect Cass Gilbert, Helen Post Curry. Former Chairman’s Award honorees were also in attendance including John Belle, Frank Sciame, and Milo Riverso.

The Thurgood Marshall U.S. Courthouse, at 40 Centre Street, was completed in 1936 to the designs of Cass Gilbert and his son, Cass Gilbert, Jr. It is a New York City Landmark and on the National Register of Historic Places. Despite its significance, the Courthouse suffered from decades of inattention and insensitive modifications. But in 2013, it emerged from a comprehensive five-year, $314 million renovation.

The award ceremony recognized the contributions of
Beyer Blinder Belle, Cauldwell Wingate, Davis Brody Bond, EverGreene Architectural Arts, GSA, Integrated Conservation Resources, Lend Lease, WSP, and U.S. Court of Appeals Judge Dennis Jacobs

Honorary Co-Chairs
Dan Brodsky, Brodsky Organization
John J. Kerr, Jr., Simpson Thacher & Bartlett LLP (retired partner)

Leadership Committee
Dick Anderson, New York Building Congress; Gale Brewer, Manhattan Borough President; Michael De Chiara, Zetlin & De Chiara; Alexa Hampton, Mark Hampton; Sam White, Platt Byard Dovell White; Carolyn Maloney, U.S. House of Representatives; James McKenna, Hunter Roberts Construction; Stephen Lash, Christie’s; George Ranalli, City College School of Architecture; Milo Riverso, STV; Frank Sciame, Sciame; Robert Silman, Robert Silman Associates and Elizabeth Stribling, Stribling & Associates

The New York Landmarks Conservancy inaugurated the Chairman’s Award in 1988 to recognize exceptional business leaders and companies that have demonstrated their dedication to protecting New York’s rich architectural heritage.

Further Information
For information about the luncheon, email Jenna Smith .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) or call 212.995.5260.